REPUBLIC OF TURKEY MINISTRY OF CULTURE AND TOURISM

Edirne Museum

History

The first museum in Edirne was opened with the name Archaeology Museum in 1925 upon the order of Atatürk in Dar-ül Kurr'a Madrasa. It was constructed together with Selimiye Mosque in between 1569 - 1575 in the courtyard of Selimiye Mosque and it is the work of Mimar Sinan.

Since Edirne was the capital of the Ottoman State for 91 years, the palace had an impact on the folk art and enriched it in terms of ethnography, and therefore, there was a need to create a second museum. Thus, the second museum bearing the name of Ethnography Museum was opened in Madrasa in the courtyard of Selimiye Mosque and called Dar-ül Tedris on November 25th, 1936. The Ministry of National Education and General Directorate of Foundations have made monetary contributions to this museum and some valuable goods have been presented by the Ankara and İstanbul Museums.

In recent years the works entering the museum by excavation and donation have increased, hence, the number of visitors has increased. As a result, a modern museum was needed and it was opened in 1971 under the name Archaeology and Ethnography Museum.
The museum in Dar-ül Tedris Madrasa is continuing its service as the Turkish-Islamic Works Museum.

ARCHAEOLOGY AND ETHNOGRAPHY MUSEUM

Ethnography Section: at the entrance, on the left side, there is a collection consisting of silver works with a sultan's signature and other house tools, donated by a person from Edirne and just beside it, there are a Gördes-type carpet prayer rug, laid in the niche of Selimiye Mosque, and Şarköy kilims belonging to the 19th century. Again, the coins belonging to the Ottoman Sultans' periods are exhibited in the first of the three showcases in the same line; the treasures found during the base excavations are exhibited in the second showcase; and the coins caught at the customs doors while being illegally transferred to other countries and brought to the museum are exhibited in the third showcase.

One of the most important parts of the hall is the part reflecting the ritual circumcision and bride rooms. The ritual circumcision bed is prepared by putting 22 bindallı side by side and a valuable bed set made on satin, belonging to the 18th century is laid on them.

The "Edirnekari" large board door belonging to the end of the 17th century, which is on the wall of the ritual circumcision and bride room, is one the most beautiful samples of its period.

The style cover used in the palace, spoons made of the covers of sea turtles, long-spouted ewers, water pipe sets made of crystal, and the 19th century male and female clothes are exhibited in the showcases in the middle of the inner hall. The sitting room in the same hall and the money drawers, writing drawers and chests made with Edirnekari technique are of great interest.

Before passing to the hand works section, embroidered handkerchiefs having different motifs, the blanket, which was used by Atatürk during his visit to Edirne and the map he used during the Balkan War are exhibited in the showcases on the left and right sides.

In the handworks part, there are a village kitchen, a carpet, a kilim, rush mat weaving looms, tools used in shoe manufacture, agricultural tools, instruments used in farming and a phaeton.

Archaeology Section:
At the entrance, on the right side, there is a photograph panel showing the first tumulus excavations made in the region between the years 1936 - 1939 upon the order of Atatürk, and on the left side, there is a map showing the archaic residence locations of Thrace.
The stone works are exhibited in three groups along the wall:

1- inscriptions

2- architectural parts

3- steles

The showcase, which contains female busts made of cooked soil, is interesting in terms of showing the hair styles of women from the Archaic Period until today. Works belonging to various periods, which were seized while being sent abroad, are exhibited in the contraband works showcase.
Cavalry steles depicting the Thracean cavalry, who were very skilful in war art and horsemanship and who were deified after their death, are exhibited in the showcase belonging to Thrace cult documents.

Sculptures of the Roman period are placed along the wall.

Fossil parts belonging to various animals that have been obtained in the sand-gravel mines and coal mines in the region and that are dated to the periods starting from one million years ago and going back to 30-35 million years ago are exhibited in four fossil showcases.
Among the prehistoric works belonging to Odrisia, the first city residence of Odrisses (a big Trak clan) located 5 km north-west of Edirne, stone axes, handmade, rough-dough notch-ornamented earthenware pot parts, hand mill are exhibited in the horizontal showcase in the middle of the hall.
 
The grave gifts obtained in the Hacılar Dolmen, Arpalık Dolmen and Taşlıca Bayır Tumulus excavations are exhibited in the showcases called with their names. In the middle, in one of the two horizontal showcases, the Thracean coins belonging to the Hellenistic kings are exhibited while the coins belonging to the rulers’ period are located in the other showcase. The Roman and Byzantine coins are exhibited in chronological order in the two vertical showcases.

In the museum garden, Ionian, Aiol, Korinth, Byzantine column heads and various architectural parts are exhibited. Besides them, the altar having an Eros relief on it, which belongs to the Roman period and the dolmens and menhirs brought from Lalapaşa Hacılar Village are interesting works.

TURKISH-ISLAMIC WORKS MUSEUM

The works are exhibited in the room numbered 14 in Dar-ül Tedris Madrasa in the courtyard of Selimiye Mosque.
Room of Wrestlers:

The photographs of the champion wrestlers of Kırkpınar wrestling championships, and Kırkpınar masters are exhibited. Furthermore, a wrestler and Kırkpınar master are depicted on mannequins. Dervish Lodge Goods Room: It is one of the most important rooms of the museum. It is the room which displays the goods gathered after closing the dervish lodges. There are hand-written calligraphy samples on the walls, 2 door wings of the 2nd Beyazıd Mosque made with kündekari technique, the hand writing presented by Selim II to Selimiye Mosque and various goods in this room.

Socks Room:

Hand woven wool socks collected from different regions of the country are exhibited. Ornament and Plate Room: There are plates made with silk on satin, scale collections appliquéd on cloth, Ottoman writing ornamented towels in niches, embroidered handkerchiefs and covers in this room.

Gun Room I - II:
There are Ottoman lighter-rifles belonging to the end of the 17th-18th century, armors, helmets, cavalry swords, battle-axes, shields, mittens, arbolets, arrows, daggers and Janissary clothes on mannequins.

Balkan War Room:

The bloody flag used during the Balkan War, bread made of broom seed and the pictures of Müdafii Şükrü Pasha are exhibited in this room.

Encaustic tile and ceramic Room:

Çanakkale ceramics and earthenware jugs belonging to the end of the 18th century and the beginning of the 19th century, early Ottoman ceramics, Ottoman wall encaustic tiles belonging to the 15th, 16th and 17th centuries are put on display in this room.

In - Palace Room:

The 17th century wall tiles belonging to Edirne Palace that have been obtained during the excavation made in the palace in 1973 are exhibited.

Edirne Guest Room:

Crystal mirror and console, armchairs and picture frames made of silk worm cocoons on the walls are exhibited.

Kitchen Tools Room:

Kitchen tools used in Edirne Palace are exhibited.

Measurement tools Room:

Hand scales, height woods relating to astronomy, sand clock, okka and yard measures are exhibited.

Wood Works Room I - II:

Wooden works made with Edirnekari technique are exhibited.

Gallery:

the inscriptions of Edirne Mosques, khans, baths, fountains and kiosks that have been destroyed after the XVth century and the ceiling middles of Edirne houses constructed at the end of XIXth century are exhibited. The inner courtyard has disappeared now. The collection of Janissary grave stones that were not damaged during the Vaka-i Hayriye event and that could survive until today has a special importance.